About Us

In March of 1923, farmers in the Big Horn Basin joined together to form the Big Horn Co-operative Marketing Association, a cooperative to market dry edible beans, yellow blossom clover, and turkeys. Initially located in Basin, the co-op soon expanded to include locations in Powell and Lovell.

Over the years, the co-op shifted its focus to the supply market, opening a feed mill in Lovell and a location in Greybull to begin delivery of petroleum products. The co-op continued to grow, purchasing Fremont County Co-op’s store and fertilizer plant, opening a hardware store in Greybull, and purchasing Valley Co-op in Worland, which included a c-store, tire shop, mechanic’s shop, propane division, and a fertilizer division.

In 2003, the co-op purchased an alfalfa seed processing plant west of Greybull and converted it into office space, a central warehouse distribution center, and the primary maintenance shop for the co-op. In 2011, the Johnson County Co-op in Buffalo was purchased and renovated to house a c-store, farm and ranch store, warehouse, and fertilizer plant.

In 2017, a new fertilizer plant was opened in Basin, and in 2021, the Coop rebuilt the Worland C-store. The co-op currently employs approximately 160 full-time, part-time, and seasonal employees, and is locally owned by members who nominate and elect a board of directors. The co-op is dedicated to upgrading facilities and technology to provide the best products and service to the community.

Read more about our history.

Senior Staff

Call 307-765-2061 to contact any of the Senior Staff.

Randy Carlholm

Jim Gauker

Christian Asay
V.P. of Agronomy

Dana Richardson
V.P. of Energy

Chance Anderson
V.P. of Retail Operations

Sarah Stevens
V.P. of Safety & Compliance

Crystal Ozga
Director of Marketing

Board of Directors

Peter Kukowski
President of the Board/Director of Dist. No. 2

Daniel Escoz
Vice President/Director Dist. No. 9

Chris Bullinger
Secretery/Treasurer/Director Dist. No. 5

Darrell Horton
Director Dist. No. 4

Jimmy Seckman
Director of Dist. No. 1

Angie Wambeke
Director of Dist. No. 3

Luke Foss
Director of Dist. No. 6

Tyler Foxworthy
Director Dist. No. 7

Hugh Miller
Director Dist. No. 8

Brett Stutzman
Director Dist. No. 10, at Large